PDA

View Full Version : AvoidTheFilter.com shady adsense?


omen
July 9th, 2007, 09:51 PM
They basically force you to click and download the firefox referral through adsense otherwise their proxy won't work.

Check it out Shady Firefox Referall? (http://www.avoidthefilter.com)

I even have firefox and it's like "error, you haven't installed it yet please go back and install it".

Is that even allowed? Because if it is, I might implement something similar.

Ad disengaged
July 9th, 2007, 09:56 PM
Looks like a violation of the adsense/firefox TOS.

dumb-diddy-doo
July 9th, 2007, 09:59 PM
No its not allowed. Read the Google TOS and you will clearly see that doing something such as this is a clear violation. Guess they dont mind risking their Google account.

OMG I would never do anything that risks my Google account. I am currently working on some Google API Search engine stuff, but until I am 100% sure I am within the TOS on ever part of it, I will not launch it.

Ad disengaged
July 9th, 2007, 10:02 PM
it is run by myspacegeeks. Very impressive rankings considering it only has two myspace sites linking to it. But yea not a good idea to violate TOS.

omen
July 9th, 2007, 10:06 PM
With a #1 unblock myspace ranking, with 2k uniques.. It's a shame to see adsense being rorted like this. It's better to do it all legit, at $1 a pop, I'm sure this would be pulling in some dough.

Oh well, google will eventually catch on..

fapsian
July 9th, 2007, 10:09 PM
Get this - this site is on sale for a measly $7500 on SP - but check this page that you get when you click the link on the left top corner for viewing hidden layouts

http://www.myspacealive.com/hidden.asp

Connections
July 9th, 2007, 10:13 PM
Guys I will have a chat with kyle over MSN, I think he might not know.

Once again I think you should contact him directly before start a anti-user thread.

omen
July 9th, 2007, 10:17 PM
Guys I will have a chat with kyle over MSN, I think he might not know.

Once again I think you should contact him directly before start a anti-user thread.

I meant nothing by it, I just wanted to know if it was shady (against the TOS) or allowed. As I'm at UNI right now and typed in "unblock myspace" on google, and that's when I come across it, and thought "wow, if this is allowed I'm so doing it!"

Didn't even know he owned it... wasn't anti-user at all..

Jordan
July 10th, 2007, 01:15 AM
Is it just me or has he changed it since?

And yeah he did know he put it like that because I asked him the same question like a week ago. I think kyle is cool and all but i'm under no obligation to keep my mouth shut...i do think it's wrong when there are others pretty much struggling to make small money on adsense.

omen
July 10th, 2007, 02:42 AM
Yeah, looks like its all changed now. Oh well, looks like I won't be trying it..